What is Love?


For Katie.  
The other day I was on my way home from work and I saw these two elderly people holding hands as they walked down the street . As they began their journey I observed the man gently place the woman on his side to shield her away from traffic. In the short time I watched them it amazed me how much tenderness and affection these two bestowed on one another. As I pulled away I couldn’t help but to wonder  had I just witnessed true love?

Now this is hard for me to say because for all I know the two could have just met and he was attempting to impress her with his charm and chivalry. However for some reason I somewhat feel this was not the case. I got the impression that these two had been together for many, many years. Years that were sometimes difficult, challenging, frustrating but also full of love and commitment.

In today’s society with all the hustle and bustle of everyday life, with all the negativity about relationships and marriage I think we’ve lost something. I think we’ve lost somewhere along the way, The true meaning of Love. I think that somewhere along the lines of infatuation, sexual attraction, lusting, jealously, dishonesty, adultery and plain old selfish behavior we’ve forgotten about Gods greatest gift, Love.

We often tell people we’ve just met that we love them, or that we’re in love with them. We toss these words around like saying hello. Has love in our society lost it’s meaning? Has our need to be loved resulted in our accepting artificial love as a replacement? Do we even know what real love is? Not to be condescending, but truthfully, how many of you have been intimate with a man just because he whispered those three little words, I Love You?

As you seek to define your current relationship or forge a new one, I thought I’d give you the true meaning of love to use as a measuring stick for where you are and where you’re going in it. Take a look at your former relationships and see how they measure up.

I’m not a expert in this  or any of the things I write on this blog. I simply try to enlighten you on the truth through the eyes of a man. I draw upon my past and the pasts and present of other men to attempt to steer anyone of you whom wants to listen in the right direction. I can only assist you through my words in achieving what it is you seek, and I’m pretty sure that it’s this. True Love.

Now since I’m not an expert, I went with the expert and today I present to you the “Meaning of True Love” according to the Bible. I hope you take the time to read it, and if you’ve already read it before, pass it on to someone whom may have not, especially men. I have to go now, please enjoy.   1 Corinthians 13

  
Love

 1If I speak in the tongues[a] of men and of angels, but have not love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. 2If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. 3If I give all I possess to the poor and surrender my body to the flames,[b] but have not love, I gain nothing. 4Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

 8Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. 9For we know in part and we prophesy in part, 10but when perfection comes, the imperfect disappears. 11When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put childish ways behind me. 12Now we see but a poor reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

 13And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

2 comments on “What is Love?

  1. I was bored one day and stumbled upon this blog, and I have to say first of all, thank you for writing it. It’s giving great in-sight to a lot of things, and I will be referring it to a few of my friends.

    The passage from the bible is especially true and well written. Many times, people confuse love with lust or affection. They don’t quite understand that love is this incredible emotion that can completely change a person once they really feel and understand it. Where as affection is something similar but wouldn’t exactly change a person on the dime. Affection is something you may feel towards your pet or a friendly neighbor. Love is something you feel when you meet your significant other, or your child. And we all know what lust is. lol.

Leave a Reply

